10 comments on “This Is Why Cops Don’t Trust People

  1. I have helped an officer who was struggling with a combative suspect–I saw the situation when driving by, offered help and on the officer’s instructions cuffed the guy while the officer held him. However, too often when citizens intervene in other criminal situations we hear a police spokesman say something like “This incident turned out well, but we don’t recommend that citizens fight back/intervene/resist–Let the police handle it”. Aren’t these people just doing what they’ve been told numerous times by police on the news?

  2. Sevesteen,

    I thought of that too when I decided to post. I think the advice is meant for the run of the mill arrest. To me, this officer is in peril of not surviving the fight. That seems different to me. I do see your point however, as it is always more dangerous to step in than not to.

    Thanks for stopping by…

    PC

  3. I don’t think you can have it both ways–Either civilians should risk themselves, or they shouldn’t. It isn’t fair to expect us to only put ourselves at risk to save a cop, but we should mind our own business if it is another civilian in trouble. People who know the danger and put themselves at risk anyhow

    I don’t mean to blame cops in general–I suspect the “let the police handle it” attitude is more from administrators and supervisors than street cops.

  4. Last sentance, first paragraph should have been “people who know the danger and put themselves at risk anyhow for the benefit of others should be commended”

  5. here are my observations-
    two minutes and fifty seconds later, a call gets finally into 911- at least forty cars drove by- and nada!

    sorry– but I DON’T BUY JUST STANDING THERE AND WATCHING- A FULL BUS DROVE BY- THERE WAS ENOUGH PEOPLE THERE TO HELP-

    The distinction between Mark and the jerk up above is- a skateboard and a drug crazed asshole who only got two years for trying to KILL A COP WHILE ON DUTY!

    HOW MANY CELL PHONES DROVE BY? HOW MANY CELL PHONES WERE STANDING AND WATCHING? Bull crap to not helping– I would have been in there- trust me!

  6. this Mark couldn’t come up for air, much less say to someone- don’t get involved!

  7. Interesting points from each of you. I think it is true that in general, we need a more “get involved” society. I also see what you mean Susan – this does seem to take it to the extreme.

    Thanks for the thoughts, and if you see me in that fight, you have my wholehearted permission to beat some ass.

  8. I also would have been glad to help, jump on the guy’s back, give him a little extra weight to tote around, but only if the cop asked for help. I don’t want to screw him up. I work in an ER and have had my butt saved by a passing officer many times, whatever is needed, say the word.

  9. Sevesteen,

    There should be no expectation by police for citizens to intervene. There’s no easy rule of thumb or guidelines for when citizens should get involved, or how they should get involved. To intervene is to put yourself in jeopardy and there’s just no way to protect you and expect you to help us.

    That being said I think basic human decency requires citizens to do more than just drive by and pretending that cop’s not losing a battle, and possibly his life.

    I would expect the basic human reaction should be at least a call to 911. If you don’t have a cell phone and you can get into the police car and use the radio, before getting yourself back to safety that’s fine too. Simply alerting everyone else that the cop needs help, I believe, meets simple humanity.

    Those who feel they are prepared to jeopardize their safety and take a more hands on approach are wonderful. I’m sure there are many cops still walking the planet because a hero stepped in and helped. That’s the definition of hero in my book, doing something you aren’t expected to and endangering yourself to do it. Certainly we can’t expect every passerby to be a hero, but we can expect some basic humanity and an effort to at least call the help we need.

    That’s how I see it. We can’t expect heroism, but we can expect a phone call. Make sense?

Leave a Reply

